Brief History

The Nagaland State Commission for Women was constituted vide Government of Nagaland Notification NO. LAW/ACT. 218/2006 dated 30th Nov. ’06 under the Nagaland Women Commission Act 2006 (Act No. 6 of 2006) and was formally inaugurated by His Excellency the then Governor of Nagaland Shri. K. Shankarnarayanan on 28th March 2007. The Commission still functions from hired premises at the NBCC  Complex, 1st Floor, Bayavü Hill, Kohima.

The following persons have been appointed as Chairperson and Members of the Nagaland State Commission for Women by the State Government vide order No. WD/NWC-10/14/2009 dated 21-12-2012, for a period of three years.

  1. Dr. Temsula Ao – Chairperson
  2. Mrs. Kakheli Jakhalu – Member
  3. Mrs. Asangla Cholong – Member